Traces of Charity: St. Bridget's Refuge

Type of resource
Author/collaborator
Title
Traces of Charity: St. Bridget's Refuge
Abstract
An examination of the discussion taking place around the site of Irish Montreal's St. Bridget's Refuge, later called St. Bridget's Home and then called the Father Dowd Home. The building was erected in 1869, replacing an earlier St. Bridget's Refuge that was established in 1840s to care for the poor, ill and socially isolated Irish refugees, mostly women, who came to Montreal to escape the Great Famine in their homeland. The building, once part of the St. Patrick's Basilica property on De la Gauchetière Street, was razed in the 1970s when the Father Dowd Home moved to a new location. All that is left of the 1869 Refuge building are pieces of St. Bridget's foundation and the steps that led up to the building. The property was purchased by the Université de Montreal's Hautes Études Commerciales (HEC), and a debate has ensued over the fate of both the preservation of St. Bridget's remnants and whether suitable information on the history of the site will be prominently displayed when developed by the HEC.
Publication
Quebec Heritage News
Volume
Vol. 13
Issue
no. 1
Pages
13-15
Date
Winter 2019
Language
en
Citation
Stock, Sandra. “Traces of Charity: St. Bridget’s Refuge.” Quebec Heritage News Vol. 13, no. 1 (Winter 2019): 13–15.
Find in a library
Permalink