About

Bibliography: Content and Criteria

This bibliography aims to help anyone studying English-speaking Quebec find material about the nature, history, contributions, and concerns of this diverse official language minority community. It reveals the wealth of available material and catalogues it in a useful way in the hope of stimulating further research on English-speaking Quebec.

The bibliography contains secondary sources related to the study of English-speaking Quebec. It covers the period from the Conquest to the present day. Types of resources include everything from scholarly studies to magazine articles, by way of films and websites. Despite this, the bibliography does not claim to be exhaustive and excludes documents such as encyclopedia articles and entries in the Dictionary of Canadian Biography.

We invite users to let us know if they think anything important is missing from the bibliography.

Brendan O’Donnell

Brendan O’Donnell

Brendan O’Donnell, historian and retired civil servant, is the author of this bibliography. He began this reference work on English-speaking Quebec in 1976, and continues to compile it on his own time to this day. All told, he has spent thousands of volunteer hours over the decades to identify, list, and provide annotations for the publications.

Find out more about the origins of the bibliography.

From Print to Web

Brendan’s bibliography was initially published in a series of three volumes. The Eastern Townships Resource Centre (ETRC) at Bishop’s University published the first two volumes, dated 1985 and 1992. The Quebec English-speaking Communities Research Network (QUESCREN) at Concordia University published the last one in 2009.

Volume 1 cover Volume 2 cover Volume 3 cover

Also in 2010, Brendan worked with QUESCREN to create an online version. Brendan has updated the bibliography so that it now contains thousands more entries than are listed in the printed volumes. In 2018, a more user-friendly interface was created for the online version through a QUESCREN-ETRC partnership financed by Canadian Heritage. This new interface is designed by David Lesieur of Whisky Echo Bravo, Concordia University hosts this online bibliography.

Team

Web Project Management Team

Website Programming

Website Design

Server integration

  • John Longo (Concordia, IITS)

Off the Shelf lecture series

Virtual Exhibit on the Off the Shelf lecture series - Written Content

Virtual Exhibit - AV content

  • Anna Iarovaia

Using the Search Bar

AND

It is not necessary to include AND between words in the search box. Multiple words will return results that include one term and the other.

QUOTATION MARKS

Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase in the order the words are written (eg., "reasonable accommodation").

OR

Use the word OR in capital letters if you want results that include one search term or another (eg., église OR church).

NOT

Use the word NOT in capital letters if you want to exclude certain results from your search (eg., Canadien NOT hockey).

ACCENTS

It is not necessary to include accents for French words. For instance, Montréal will produce the same search results as Montreal.

À propos du site

Bibliographie : Contenu et critères

Cette bibliographie vise à aider ceux et celles qui étudient le Québec d’expression anglaise à trouver des documents sur la nature, l’histoire, les contributions et les préoccupations de cette communauté diversifiée. Elle révèle la profusion de documents disponibles et les répertorie efficacement dans l’espoir d’encourager la conduite de recherches plus poussées sur le Québec d’expression anglaise.

La bibliographie comprend des sources secondaires concernant l’étude du Québec d’expression anglaise. Elle couvre la période s’étendant de la Conquête à aujourd’hui. Elle contient des ressources de différents types, y compris des œuvres savantes, des articles de magazine, des films et des sites Web. Elle ne prétend toutefois pas être exhaustive et ne recense notamment pas la plupart des articles d’encyclopédies, ni les articles du Dictionnaire biographique du Canada.

Nous invitons les utilisateurs à nous faire savoir si un élément important manque à la bibliographie.

Brendan O’Donnell

Brendan O’Donnell

Historien et fonctionnaire à la retraite, Brendan O’Donnell est l’auteur de cette bibliographie. Il a commencé cet ouvrage de référence en 1976, il continue d’étoffer la bibliographie pendant ses temps libres et l’enrichit encore. Au fil des années, il a bénévolement consacré des milliers d’heures à identifier des publications, à les répertorier et à rédiger des notes descriptives pour les accompagner.

Pour en savoir plus sur les origines de la bibliographie, cliquez ici.

Du papier au Web

La bibliographie de Brendan O’Donnell est tout d’abord parue en trois volumes. Le Centre de ressources pour l’étude des Cantons-de-l’Est (CRCE) à l’Université Bishop’s a édité les deux premiers en 1985 et en 1992, et le Réseau de recherche sur les communautés québécoises d’expression anglaise (QUESCREN) à l’Université Concordia a publié le dernier en 2009.

Couverture du volume 1 Couverture du volume 2 Couverture du volume 3

En 2010, Brendan O’Donnell a par ailleurs collaboré avec le QUESCREN à la création d’une version en ligne, bonifiant le contenu original avec des milliers d’ajouts. En 2018, une interface plus conviviale a été créée grâce à un partenariat entre le QUESCREN et le CRCE, financée par Patrimoine canadien. Cette nouvelle interface a été conçue par David Lesieur de Whisky Echo Bravo. La bibliographie est hébergée par l’Université Concordia.

Équipe

Équipe de gestion du projet Web

Programmation Web

Design Web

Intégration serveur

  • John Longo (Concordia, IITS)

Séries de conférences Off the Shelf

Exposition virtuelle sur la série de conférences Off the Shelf – contenu écrit

Exposition virtuelle – contenu audiovisuel

  • Anna Iarovaia

Utilisation de la barre de recherche

AND

Il n’est pas nécessaire d’écrire AND entre les mots dans le champ de recherche. Si vous saisissez plusieurs mots, les résultats comprendront un terme et l’autre.

GUILLEMETS

Utilisez les guillemets pour chercher une expression avec les mots écrits exactement dans le même ordre (par exemple : "reasonable accommodation").

OR

Utilisez le terme OR en majuscules si vous voulez que les résultats comprennent soit un terme d’interrogation, soit l’autre (par exemple : église OR church).

NOT

Utilisez le terme NOT en majuscules si vous souhaitez exclure certains résultats de votre recherche (par exemple : Canadien NOT hockey).

ACCENTS

Il n’est pas nécessaire d’écrire les accents sur les mots français. Le terme Montréal fournira les mêmes résultats que le terme Montreal.