The Fulford Residence: A Dilemma for Both Elder Care and Heritage

Type of resource
Author/collaborator
Title
The Fulford Residence: A Dilemma for Both Elder Care and Heritage
Abstract
The history of the Fuflord Residence of Montreal, an elder care facility for women begun by the Anglican Diocese of Montreal in 1855, and closed in 2021. Originally called the Church Home until 1982, its name was changed to the Fulford Residence to comply with provincial government legislation. The Home was originally established by Anglican Bishop Francis Fulford (1803-1869) as a shelter for young women who immigrated to Montreal as governesses and teachers, but by the end of the nineteenth century was a care home for elderly women. The author notes her concerns about the preservation of the heritage values of the Fulford Residence building, located at 1221 Guy Street.
Publication
Quebec Heritage News
Volume
Vol. 15
Issue
no. 3
Date
Summer 2021
Pages
9-10
Language
en
Citation
Stock, Sandra. “The Fulford Residence: A Dilemma for Both Elder Care and Heritage.” Quebec Heritage News, Summer 2021.
Find in a library
Permalink