Hundredth Anniversary of English Education in Ste. Agathe

Type of resource
Author/collaborator
Title
Hundredth Anniversary of English Education in Ste. Agathe
Abstract
In 1904, English-speaking Protestants taxpayers in Ste. Agathe des Monts petitioned the Council of Public Instruction to formally "dissent" from the well-established French Catholic school board and create their own school. The author explains the property evaluations and the splitting of the school tax between the relatively small group of English-Protestant residents in this Laurentian town, and the larger French-speaking Catholic population at this time. Today, the school is part of the Sir Wilfrid Laurier School Board.
Publication
Quebec Heritage News
Volume
Vol. 2
Issue
No. 8,9,10
Date
January, March, May 2004
Pages
6-7
Language
en
URL
Citation
Graham, Joseph. “Hundredth Anniversary of English Education in Ste. Agathe.” Quebec Heritage News, May 2004. http://qahn.org/files/quebecanglophoneheritagenetwork/documents/qhn/QHN%20January-March-May%202004.pdf.
Find in a library
Permalink