The Quebec Act: Protest and Policy

Type of resource
The Quebec Act: Protest and Policy
The Quebec Act of 1774 was an act of the British Parliament that set out the procedures of governance for the "old" Province of Quebec. The province's territory was expanded to take over part of the Indian territory, including much of what is now southern Ontario, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Wisconsin, and parts of Minnesota; the oath of allegiance for Quebecers was replaced with one that no longer made reference to the Protestant faith, thus allowing Catholics to hold public offices; the Catholic religion was guaranteed free practice; French civil law was restored for private matters while the use of the English common law for public administration, including criminal prosecution, was maintained; and the Catholic Church's right to impose tithes was restored. The Quebec Act was a repudiation of much of the Proclamation of 1763, and of the sacrifices made by the British colonists during the Seven Years' War with France. In the southern thirteen colonies, the Quebec Act was considered on of the punitive "Intolerable Acts" that eventually lead to the American Revolution in 1775.
Scarborough, ON
Prentice-Hall of Canada
Neatby, Hilda. The Quebec Act: Protest and Policy. Scarborough, ON: Prentice-Hall of Canada, 1972.
Find in a library